Daffodils and Dogwoods I – 2012

 

Daffodils and dogwoods
frolic in the springtime sun
Brrr … too cold for me

 

Bold March explorers
shaking off winter’s hold
until the night’s frost

 

Springtime garden horde
shivering in the chill breeze –
retreat, no option

 

Sleek saffron sisters
sighing heart-felt melodies …
soft splashes of spring

 

Winter’s rest is o’er
nature’s pulsing with romance
brief proud courting dance

 

Splattering of drops
icy little water bombs –
the dogwood’s revenge

 

Daffodil gossips
whispering in the warm wind
at the dogwood’s feet

 

Pink upturned petals
fielders in the springtime game
catch sunshine … or rain

 

Weeping in the shade
of delicate twigs abloom
mourning lost lovers

About J. Thomas Ross

Since retiring from a career as a high school English and history teacher, I've been pursuing a career as a writer. My main interest is in writing novels, but I've also written short stories and poetry and done a little editing on the side. I am currently working on a Young Adult novel. One of my poems - "Winter" - won an award at the 2010 Philadelphia Writers Conference, and you can find my fantasy short story "A Rock Is a Rock Is a Rock ... Or Is It?" in the anthology Tales of Fortannis: A Bard's Eye View, which is available in print and Kindle format from Amazon and as an e-book from Double Dragon Press.
This entry was posted in Gardening, My Photos, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Daffodils and Dogwoods I – 2012

  1. Beautiful shots, like art photographs in a gallery!

  2. Enjoyed the photography and the poetry. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I absolutely love your poetry in this piece, I am actually starting a strictly poetry blog as well. After I get mine up and going, I would love for you to take a look at it and see if you would like to share a few of your pieces, like this one on it.

    Your writing, photography, and subjects are absolutely lovely. I don’t want to read them to close because I don’t want your lovely wording to entangle with my own as I write, but I would love for my audience to have an opportunity to enjoy your work as well, and when I’m done I’ll have it right there to enjoy myself, as well, forever!

    Have a beautiful day!! Talk to you soon!!
    Angie

    • Thank you so much, Angie. I’m so glad you enjoyed the poems and photographs. I have a second post combining photos with poetry in the works.

      Best of luck with your poetry blog. I’d love to take a look at it when it’s ready, and I’m certainly willing to share some of my pieces.

Leave a Reply

