Winter Scenes 2012

After two years of snowfall totals well above average, this year New Jersey had above normal temperatures and a snowfall total far below average. But regardless of the temperatures or snowfall, beauty abounded and I couldn’t resist trying to capture it in photographs. Here are a few of my favorites.

Sunset over the Delaware River from I-295, January 5

I love sunsets, and we’ve had a lot of spectacular ones this winter.

Geese in the field, January 13

Sunset reflecting off the pond, January 13

Sunset, January 13

First winter snow, January 21

The snowfalls were few, light, and melted quickly.

Snow and fog, January 23

Pansies in flower boxes, February 1

My pansies have bloomed non-stop since November.

Daffodils, February 7

Waning full moon on the snow, February 9

Sunny morning after the snow, February 9

Moon and clouds, February 10

More light, wet snow, February 11

Our resident deer herd, February 14

Sunrise, February 21

Purple crocuses, March 14

Sunset, March 19

The exceptionally warm winter has ended. What surprises do you suppose spring will bring?

For more photos, check my Facebook photo album.

About J. Thomas Ross

Since retiring from a career as a high school English and history teacher, I've been pursuing a career as a writer. My main interest is in writing novels, but I've also written short stories and poetry and done a little editing on the side. I am currently working on a Young Adult novel. One of my poems - "Winter" - won an award at the 2010 Philadelphia Writers Conference, and you can find my fantasy short story "A Rock Is a Rock Is a Rock ... Or Is It?" in the anthology Tales of Fortannis: A Bard's Eye View, which is available in print and Kindle format from Amazon and as an e-book from Double Dragon Press.
Gallery | This entry was posted in My Photos and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Scenes 2012

  1. Vivid and truly cinematic. The eye of an artist. I can feel the cold, damp air. Actually those light dustings are the PERFECT snowfall, just enough to be decorative, but the roads are still clear.

Leave a Reply

