Thanksgiving and Twitter

The three-point buck who visited Wednesday

I love Thanksgiving. It’s a national holiday in the U.S., a celebration of the harvest and a day to gather with family and friends … and to feast! The meal preparations — baking the bread and making the pie dough and applesauce — are hectic because this is one time I make them from scratch. So, while I think gratitude should be a part of each day, the day after Thanksgiving is my special day for resting and remembering and reflecting on all those things I’m grateful for.

Don’t worry — I’m not going to post a list!

However, I do want to tell all my Twitter friends how glad I am to have connected with you and how much it means to me to have met such wonderful people from all over the world. (Since I can’t fit all I want to say in 140 characters, I’m writing it as a blog post.) I love and value each and every one of you. I love your encouragement, your bits of wisdom, the fun exchanges, the experiences we share, and so much more. You have expanded my horizons, and since I discovered (not too long ago) the online translating services, I can even talk to those whose languages I don’t know.

All this especially amazes me because I came to Twitter so reluctantly. I became part of Twitter on February 18 after a couple years resistance to the prodding of Jonathan Maberry, a best-selling author who who runs an Advanced Writing Class which I was invited to join several years ago. I knew getting involved with Twitter would take time. I wasn’t sure I wanted to put in the effort, but I’m so thankful that I did! You are awesome!

Unfortunately, keeping up with you all is beginning to take more time than I have. I have not yet discovered a way to add hours to the day or get along without sleep, so please don’t hold it against me if I miss a message or mention. Don’t give up on me! And I don’t unfollow people, so if you notice that’s happened, let me know. (Hate that Twitter glitch!)

I would welcome tips from those of you with large followings. How do you manage?

Today's sunset -- Why are the geese heading north?

About J. Thomas Ross

Since retiring from a career as a high school English and history teacher, I've been pursuing a career as a writer. My main interest is in writing novels, but I've also written short stories and poetry and done a little editing on the side. I am currently working on a Young Adult novel. One of my poems - "Winter" - won an award at the 2010 Philadelphia Writers Conference, and you can find my fantasy short story "A Rock Is a Rock Is a Rock ... Or Is It?" in the anthology Tales of Fortannis: A Bard's Eye View, which is available in print and Kindle format from Amazon and as an e-book from Double Dragon Press.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Thanksgiving and Twitter

  1. What lovely things to say, my friend!! I echo those thoughts and truly am thankful for you and all the dynamic people I’ve met this year! Living in the middle of the woods as I do, there’s not often an opportunity to see people in person, so Twitter has been a life-saver and life-link for me. There are so many wonderful souls out there in the wide, wide world, and I am constantly amazed by their graciousness and the wide range of immense talent among them. You are certainly among those I value dearly! Enjoy your weekend and thank you for being YOU!!

  2. Mike McGavin says:

    I loved your post, glad we met on Twitter.

  3. kittycorgi says:

    Could you be any nicer? LOL Thanks for being my twitter friend. I am a former HS art teacher! Cheers!

  4. Alix Cameron says:

    Hope you had a wonderful Thanks Giving!

    • I did, Alix, thanks. My favorite time is when we’re all sitting around the table after eating and talking. The kids, even though they’re grown now, love hearing the stories of what their parents did when they were kids.

  5. I’m also glad we met on Twitter! Thanks for sharing this lovely post with me too! ❤

  6. marklanden says:

    I don’t have a large following, but I understand that for those that do they might not be able to get back to me quickly, or get back to me at all. I don’t take it personal because I understand there are time constraints on everyone.

    I’m glad we met, you’ve been so kind. And now that you posted it, I’m not surprised you bake from scratch! What great synchronicity this is because an influential character in my story started a bakery for all the reasons you bake from scratch, and in her memory the story is immensely powerful to the hero and town. Happy Thanksgiving to you, and keep taking those inspiring pictures!

  7. How very nice. Thanks so much for including me in your message! i am grateful for meeting you as well. As far as extra hours in the day, my oldest son suggested to me “polyphasic sleeping” – I’ll have to look into that…I could use a few more hours in each day too! Enjoy your weekend my friend. :0)

  8. Sister, you are not the only one still trying to figure out the madness that is Twitter. *GRIN* Thank you for sharing this post and I am honored to have you as a follower and be a followee…is that a word? Probably not. HA! Big hugs!

  9. Great Post, I hope you had a relaxing day! Pie crust from scratch? Yikes! I grew up on Mrs. Smith’s pies, and still believe in them. They help with time management and they’re more consistent. Although, I did manage to mess one up Thursday. I got tangled up with the Macy’s parade and didn’t hear the timer go off.

    • Disasters like that make stories for future Thanksgivings!

      I did have a good day. Lots of help from the family and cutting back on the number of side dishes made it less hectic.

      You’re right about the pie crust consistency. Sometimes the crust is lovely; sometimes it’s not. But it always tastes good, and it’s a carrying on of tradition. My grandmother made a super pie crust with lard. lard adds an special taste to the crust, but our local store said they can’t get lard anymore.

  10. What a beautiful post,it is very kind and whole hearted..Something I already knew about you..You are a wonderful Twitter friend and more..
    You also seem to have wonderful family values that I admire..
    Sincerely Stacie..

Leave a Reply

