Lucas Magnum’s Awesome Reading Fest Part 2

 

 

 

Lucas Magnum’s Awesome Reading Fest Part 2 took place this evening, July 10, 2011 from 6:00 pm to 9:00pm at Saxby’s Coffee House on North Main Street in Doylestown, PA. This event offered an opportunity for Philadelphia area writers to read a selection from their work. The selection could be a work of fiction of no more than one thousand words or an excerpt of a longer work, published or unpublished, in any genre. Readers who just want to listen were welcome as well.

 

 

 

Lucas Magnum’s Awesome Reading Fest Part 1 took place on June 3 and I could not participate because I was attending the Philadelphia Writers’ Conference. I heard a lot of good things about the event and made sure to attend this one. Unfortunately, I could only stay for an hour. (Family events come first.) Next time, I hope I can stay for the entire event!

 

 

 

 

For the first hour, we met in the basement meeting room at Saxby’s. The room was packed with over forty people. Some stood and some listened from outside the doors. I next to writers Donna Beckley Galanti and Ruth Littner. In the first hour, seven readers shared their work. The excellence of the writing impressed me. I too took a turn at reading — a selection from my unpublished short story “Faces in the Bubbles.” Each selection received an enthusiastic ovation from the listeners.

 

 

 

 

I had to leave when the group adjourned to move upstairs, where the remainder of the readings were to be filmed to be released as a series of videos on the web. Unfortunately, the video plan did not work out for this event. I hope it will work out for the next one, which according to the buzz will be in September.

Kudos and thanks to Lucas for coming up with such a brilliant idea! I met Lucas last year when we both participated in a “Write Your Novel in 9 Months” class with Jonathan Maberry and fellow Liar’s Club authors Marie Lamba, Jon McGoran, and Dennis Tafoya. Although Marie could not attend, Jonathan, Jon, and Dennis and fellow Liar’s Club members Keith Strunk and Don Lafferty, came out to support Lucas and the other area writers.

I’m so sorry I had to leave early; I can’t wait till the next session! Hope you can join us.

About J. Thomas Ross

Since retiring from a career as a high school English and history teacher, I've been pursuing a career as a writer. My main interest is in writing novels, but I've also written short stories and poetry and done a little editing on the side. I am currently working on a Young Adult novel. One of my poems - "Winter" - won an award at the 2010 Philadelphia Writers Conference, and you can find my fantasy short story "A Rock Is a Rock Is a Rock ... Or Is It?" in the anthology Tales of Fortannis: A Bard's Eye View, which is available in print and Kindle format from Amazon and as an e-book from Double Dragon Press.
This entry was posted in Fellow Authors, My Photos, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lucas Magnum’s Awesome Reading Fest Part 2

  1. donnagalanti says:

    Judy – you are so quick to get this up! I wish you could have stayed longer too. So enjoyed it. Hope to read the rest of your piece!

  2. Thanks, Donna. Your own story is very moving!

  3. Judy, I was so sorry to miss this event–again! (You know where I was for the first one, and now I’m in Northern NY State.) Thanks for the recap. Lucas says he hopes to have one in September (if you’re reading , Lucas, I’ll be home Sept. 15!) and I hope to come. I LOVE public reading events!

Leave a Reply

